Top Ten: March 2013

Another Top Ten post, but this time about the month we’ve just been through so I can remember it. Baby brain is real, everyone! This is presented in no particular order. The use of the word ‘Top’ also is not meant to imply that all of these events were necessarily positive ones. They just…were.

1. Emma turned 6 months!

This felt like a Thing. It felt significant somehow, the half birthday, even though it seems silly. She was still alive, and seemingly thriving. We were not only still alive, but still married. It also felt like the beginning of the end of her babyhood. Soon we’ll wake up and she’ll be crawling, then walking later that day, and by night time she’ll be in high school and having a baby herself by dawn. This quickening of time makes me sad for lots of reasons, but it’s also great watching her grow and figure things out. It’s great that she’s finally started taking decent sleeps during the day, so I can blog (and, you know…do housework…) It was also great to stop giving her purees and jump on the finger food/baby led weaning bandwagon.

2. I ran 10 kilometres!

Seriously. The mental boredom was worse than the physical challenge. Who knew? Bring on April 13.

3. I made an awesome cake!

For mum’s birthday I attempted this. And while it didn’t look quite like the picture, it didn’t suck. Mum’s birthday was great for lots of reasons including a fancy lunch at the lovely Sage, and a visit from Ali and Rob. Fun times all round.

4. I took Emma to Sydney!

When I found out Andy was coming to Sydney for Mardi Gras I plotted on how I could make the trip up to see him and Troy, baby in tow. And we pulled it off. I’d never taken Emma away by myself before and I didn’t know how it would go, but she was a star. What made it easy was staying with my dear friend Gemma, in a kid and baby friendly house with people who got it, and the fact that Emma is awesome. A special highlight was a trip to Madame Tussaud’s with Ali, because our first choice of the aquarium had the line going out the door and it’s not like Emma cared. So…much…kitsch.

5. Steubenville happened!

Because of various websites I read regularly (like this one and this one), I’d been reading about Steubenville for a while and it was good to see some of the culprits finally being held accountable, even though I think all decent human beings can agree the media did not always do a good job of reporting it. I see similarities between how those footballers were treated and the Oscar Pistorius case (which I already wrote about here). But it feels like maybe we have a shift happening in our collective consciousness about these things. Maybe? Some new campaigns are giving me hope even if there are still people like…

6. John Laws, who proved yet again to be an unbelievable a-hole!

Another story getting some attention, about which much has been said. Although it’s hard to say much, really, because it’s so unbelievable that we should have to, in this day and age, respond to anything like that. Ever. Seriously, why do these people have jobs?

7. We went to the beach!

It’s good to have rich friends who travel a lot and let you stay in their amazing mansion full of beautiful things that looks like it’s out of some architecture or design magazine, and is across the road from the beach. We don’t have any friends like this, but Toby’s mum does. It wasn’t great beach weather but we dipped our feet anyway, I did a run along the coastal track (coastal tracks are hard! Anything that goes down to a beach must go up again), we ate lots of nice food, etc etc.

8. Canberra turned 100!

I think Canberra is a great place to live, and since reading the third instalment of the Edith trilogy I have a bit more appreciation for its recent history. To celebrate the birthday, I went to the Bubbly Bar! Apparently tickets sold quickly, but luckily I know some organised people and was there for the night time session. I thought the celebrations earlier in the day were underwhelming to say the least, so it was good to be out at night without a baby, with good company, indulge in some sparkling and decent food (a nice surprise for a vegetarian – you often end up feeling gypped) and see the awesome fireworks.

9. This happened!

For the most part I love working at PM&C, and one of the reasons is it’s full of politics nerds (although that intimidated me at first) and days like this are always a bit more exciting when you’re surrounded by nerds. Instead I sat at home and tried to explain to Emma what was happening, but what I would have given to be at the office with some interested adults. Don’t even get me started on the problem of it coinciding with the apology regarding forced adoptions, which I thought was otherwise great. I liked this article about that event and in particular this really resonated with me:

Gillard received a standing ovation for the national apology, and was mobbed as she left the Great Hall. In a surreal and difficult day, she was then off to defend her leadership from an attack by divisive members of her own government, and the media lathered in excitement at the prospect of seeing her pulled down. She never lost her nerve.

 There is something telling about this course of events – that such a significant apology to women was overshadowed by yet another attempt to knock down the country’s first female prime minister.

10. The mums painted the town red!

I’ve been lucky with my mums group, considering it’s a group of women who were placed together by virtue of having babies around the same time and living in the same area. Pretty random, and you do hear some bad stories about the judginess which seems to be what almost always happens when you put women in a group. The way it works is you call ACT Health and they allocate you a group in your local area. Depending on when your baby’s born and when the next group starts, you might have to wait weeks before you join one. I was lucky considering I left it a bit late after Emma arrived to call but we started when she was about five weeks old. It’s run by a maternal and child health nurse for five weeks and they cover different topics depending on what the group’s interested in, and after that it’s up to the members if they want to keep meeting. A few people have left the group but there are eight of us who have continued to meet at least once a week, usually for morning tea at someone’s house although we’ve also had picnics in the park and at Manuka pool, trips to the movies and the gallery, and some weekend events so the dads could come along as well. This past weekend it was decided we needed a girls night out, ably organised by our primary social coordinator, and it was a roaring success. It included dinner at the impossibly trendy (for Canberra) Soju Girl followed by drinks and dancing at the decidedly un-trendy Galaxy. I wore a pair of ridiculous shoes for the first time in forever and was home at 1.30 am feeling rather proud of myself for lasting that long, and also very lucky to have such a lovely group of women (who also happen to have babies) in my life.

One thought on “Top Ten: March 2013

  1. Hey Dot – I’ve been LOVING your posts. So..first thing..if you keep them up…then, well, I will try harder to comment on them… (I’ve spent a year at home… so feedback! Validation! at least… that’s where my head was at sometimes.. seriously…when a solicitor commented that I was one of their most organised clients with my paperwork..I floated around on cloud nine for days, and sent the email straight to Frank..).

    Anyhoo…

    YES! I get the six months thing. It IS an achievement, you finally feel as though you’re getting your stuff together, the look of terror is fading from your eyes, and, well, for Emily and I – we just sort of knew each other by then. SO very satisfying and top ten worthy..

    10km run is awesome. You should be super proud!

    And mothers groups – I actually cannot rave highly enough about the support they provide. I’ve got a brilliant one too. It, along with ‘get yourself a thermometer’ are my two top tips for new parents! The connection you form going through such a challenging, amazing time is really something. And it just gets better – while I found ours started off as support for us all as new mums, its now grown so the kids can play together. None of the judginess I’d thought might be there. Also, as Frank is part time, he gets to spend the day with ‘his girls’ on his day home with Emily — so the support is great for other partners too.

    Have thoughts on all the other bits as well…but Emily’s asleep..so it must be coffee time…

Leave a Reply

