Vegan chocolate coconut cookies

I discovered this recipe on the day I went into labour with Emma. I was at home and ginormous (obviously) and got a huge chocolate craving. We don’t keep it in the house and I wasn’t about to haul my ginormous butt down to Coles to buy some, so baking it was. But I didn’t have any butter or eggs either. Enter vegan baking. For our wedding we made gingerbread men as favours and for my cousin’s vegan partner I just bought her some crappy biscuits from the health food aisle. I’m so embarrassed about that now I’ve discovered how easy and delicious vegan baking is (she was very polite about it).

I went to my copy of Veganomican which is an awesome cookbook, and made some adaptations to their chocolate-chocolate chip-walnut cookies recipe, which is similar to this from their website. It’s now my go-to cookie recipe because it’s quick and easy and I always have the ingredients in the house. My go-to recipe would be choc chip cookies but I can’t keep chocolate chips in the house because I just eat them by the handful. I don’t have that problem with raw cocoa, funnily enough.

I’ve made a couple of changes to the original recipe, so here’s my take.

In a bowl sift together 2 cups plain flour, 2/3 cup cocoa and 1 tsp baking soda.

In a bigger bowl, mix 2/3 cup canola oil and 1.5 cups sugar. Add 4 teaspoons ground flaxseed (usually sold as linseed here, and if you can’t find it ground you can buy whole seeds and put them in the food processor) plus 1/2 cup non-dairy milk (I use almond), 2 teaspoons vanilla extract and 1 teaspoon coconut essence.

Fold the dry ingredients into the wet in batches, and then add 3/4 cup desiccated coconut.

Roll into balls with wet hands and put onto lined trays. I got 48 decent-sized cookies. Then bake at 170 degrees for 10-12 minutes, cool for 5 on the trays then move to wire rack.

Here’s some tips.

You can actually do anything with these. I’ve made citrus versions, almond versions, walnut versions, craisin versions. The original recipe puts choc chips in there as well, obviously perfect if you need something super chocolately.

What do you do with leftover linseed? Just make lots of these cookies, or I like to put it on top of porridge. It gets used a lot in vegan baking, and obviously given the plethora of soy and linseed bread out there you could make bread? The original recipe says you can leave them out but they won’t be as chewy.

It will seem like they’re not quite done at 10 minutes, but they probably are. Leave them a few more if you’re paranoid.

They should last a few days in an airtight container (in terms of being edible I mean, not because no one will want to eat them). I ended up having them in the hospital with me which was great for visitors and also 3am breastfeeding munchies.

For anyone interested, if you made 48 cookies, they are 95 calories each. Just don’t think about it though, that’s usually best when you’re talking about cookies.

I never thought I ‘nested’ while pregnant but after I’d made these the first day our neighbour’s son arrived to pick up their dog and I gave him a bag of them to take home for the family since we didn’t need all of them. His mother told me later that when he took them home she’d thought I must be close to having the baby because I was obviously nesting.

So maybe these are also some kind of labour inducing cookie as well?

Leave a Reply

