WTF are you going to do with all those carrots?

I can’t be the only person who says, “Oh, carrots are on sale! A dollar for a kilo! What a bargain!” Then slices up three for dinner and leaves the other seven to rot in the bottom of the fridge.

So, here are some ideas on what to do with the other seven carrots that I’ve found that are delicious and will avoid food wastage. I may not go so far as dumpster diving but I really hate wasting food even if it’s only 70 cents worth of pretty ordinary carrots. The worst bit of cooking with carrots is always the grating, even with a food processor, because that involves cleaning. But once you’ve got a stash of grated or chopped carrot, there’s lots of options. (You can even grate/chop then leave it in the fridge for a day or two while you wait for inspiration to hit.)

Carrot cake. I make this in muffin form, using half the amount of honey, and no icing – this makes it what I consider an “everyday” treat as opposed to a special occasion cake. Something Emma and I can have in the afternoon while we watch Sesame Street after her nap. They are gluten free (which agrees with my tummy), refined sugar free (which agrees with my trying to not die of cancer) and dairy free (which agrees with the part of me that would be a vegan if only life was worth living without cheese). I also love that it uses loads of carrots. Some recipes for “carrot cake” only use a single carrot, which defeats the purpose of what we’re trying to do here, which is use up all the carrots in the fridge.

Carrot porridge. I’ve said before I don’t understand how we’re supposed to eat five servings of vegetables a day, but here is one way to get an extra serving. I’ve only made it once this winter, but previous years I’ve made it every week. Since Toby’s not a porridge fan I make a batch on Sunday night, keep it in the fridge and it lasts most of the week. I just reheat and add a bit of milk.

Carrot and zucchini muffins. These do not meet any dietary requirements whatsoever, which means they are delicious. I also make them with just carrot, no zucchini.

Roasted carrot salad. Roasted carrots are not just for the Sunday roast where they naturally get forgotten next to the way-more-delicious potato; they also make a great salad base with a green, a grain and an oomphy dressing (and probably some feta too). This is one created by my very talented aunty Hetty, from her cookbook Community (which is awesome and can be found at your local indie bookshop AND Costco).

Carrot soup. Just the words “carrot soup” fill me with a slight dread – it just sounds so ordinary. But this is anything but ordinary. It was the roasted chick pea garnish that got me interested (LOVE those), but the whole things is one big bowl of deliciousness (even if you don’t bother with any of the garnishes).

You can add carrots to a fruit puree (with apple and/or pear, and some spices) for the baby, or to swirl through your own yoghurt or porridge or smoothie. You can grate it into a pasta sauce. Keep sticks in the fridge next to a pot of humus or salsa so they next time you’ve got the munchies they are so easy you just have to eat them instead of cheese. People who are into juicing would definitely put it in their juice. Okay, that’s all the ideas I have but now I really have no excuse to have rotting carrots in the fridge, and neither do you.

Leave a Reply

